18th March 2021
New single 'Close The Door' available now!(Featuring Echobelly's Glenn Johansson on guest guitar)  

Our new single 'Close The Door' is now available from online stores Amazon, Spotify, Deezer, Tidal, Pandora and Bandcamp  etc.


The animated video features Steve C Wilson, Abi Parker, Sharon Sullivan and Andy Cross (albeit all in cartoon form).  It was created for us exclusively by Shama Waqar.

Featuring a guest guitar part from Echobelly guitarist Glenn Johansson

Strings written and arranged and performed by Sharon Sullivan.

The single comes with two bonus tracks:

1) Close The Door (main mix)

2) Close The Door (Instrumental mix)

3) Close The Door (Britpop mix)

Written and arranged by Stephen C Wilson © 2021 with strings written and arranged and performed by Sharon Sullivan.

Lead Vocals/Backing Vocals - Abi Parker

Lead Guitar/Bass/12 String - Steve C Wilson

Guitar - Glenn Johansson

Violins - Sharon Sullivan

Drums - Claire Brock

Recorded at Zoo Audio, and in Cambridge and London by Andy Cross, Glenn Johansson, Sharon Sullivan, Claire Brock and Steve C Wilson. Mixed by Steve C Wilson. Mastered by Cefe Flynn.

This is the first track from our forthcoming album 'Reflections'

Echobelly were one of our favourite bands of the 90's and 2000's (and remain so) and we have known Glenn for many years, he played on a track a few years ago and it is a pleasure to have him on board for this song which does lend itself very well to a Britpop nostalgic vibe.

Sharon is one of our oldest friends from the Cambridge scene and is one of the greatest musicians we know, and an exceptional arranger so it is wonderful that she has provided such a fantastic and fabulous arrangement and performance for this track.

The song was written originally several years ago and is in no way related to lockdown or shielding or isolating but the resonance of the potential association is not lost on us. In fact it is about those times when one just wants to spend some time alone reflecting or relaxing away from it all in ones own space and not be bothered by anyone.

Cover design and artwork © 2021 Sound Menagerie 

Audio and video © 2021 Sound Menagerie 



Sound Menagerie are a folk rock duo from Cambridge, UK. They are Abi Parker (Vocals) and Stephen C Wilson (Songwriter/Guitar/Bass Guitar).

Their music incorporates a variety of enigmatic and carefully crafted songs and together they create a unique menagerie of sound, a blend of folk rock, dream pop, psychedelia, melodic and experimental with 60's and 90's influences. From the psychedelic curiousness of the title track of their 'Clocks & Towers' EP to the melodic and britpop-esqe vibe of their new single 'Close The Door', it is all a timeless concoction and yet still distinctively Sound Menagerie.

In 2011 they issued their 'Far Or Through' album. This was followed later in the year by 'The Silver Tree' single.  The album gained airplay from a number of radio stations  around the world.  In conjunction with this release, they were given the their own dedicated radio show on Canadian Radio Station Woody Radio. 

In 2014 Sound Menagerie released another single 'Stay With Me' which was produced by Stereolab's Andy Ramsay and which was later included on the 'Clocks & Towers' EP .  It received much praise and airplay being described as 'wonderfully melodic perfect pop'  with a 'catchy folk vibe'.  This was followed later in the year by another single 'Watermark' which featured a guest lead guitar solo by Rowan Robertson (Dio/DC4/Vast/AMRadio/Billy Ray Cyrus) and violin by Sharon Sullivan (Keltrix).

In 2015 their 'Clocks & Towers' EP  was released through Monochrome Chair Records, featuring guest appearances from Andy Ramsay (Stereolab/Europa 51) who also produced several of the tracks on the EP, Joe Watson (Stereolab/Junior Electronics) and Jon Clayton (Blusher/Charlotte Hatherley).  It was widely praised and described as a collection of  'enigmatic and carefully crafted songs'. The colourful clock tower cover artwork was created for Sound Menagerie by artist Ann Charlesworth. An expanded version of  'Clocks & Towers' was also released on CD.  ​

Sound Menagerie have just completed a new album entitled 'Reflections' which they plan to release later in 2021 preceded by singles. The new single 'Close The Door' (Release date March 18th 2021) features Echobelly's Glenn Johansson on guest guitar and Sharon Sullivan on violin. 

  • Facebook
  • Bandcamp
  • Spotify
  • iTunes
  • Amazon
  • SoundCloud
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube

© 2021 by Sound Menagerie